My Fiancée says the title for this post is: “Try Apple because they’re great!”

When talking about war with regards to America, most consider it a foreign thing -outside of the home and on distant soil. However on occasion war of one sort or another finds it’s way into the American home: Ripping apart families. dividing Father against Son, neighbor against neighbor. It tears down the white-picketed fences of friendship and replaces them with the staunch and unyielding stone walls of conflict.

I think we all know what “War” I am referring to.

Apple vs Android.

And don’t try to deny that –unless you’re still rocking a flip-phone with an antennae– you’ve been drafted into service on one side or the other. (Or rather, drafted into a LACK of service if you use Sprint like I do…)

The point of this post is to potentially shed some light on this raging conflict and bring together both sides in an understanding of each other’s views. Or at the very least I can give you some interesting ammunition to use the next time you need it.

To begin with, I think the biggest reason for conflict between these two parties (aside from the fact that both companies undoubtedly love all the buzz their products are getting) is that people don’t typically understand the goals of our towering, technological warlords. From what I have been able to discern as a consumer — while they are competing for the same audience, Apple and Android have very different goals when it comes to their products.

As near as I could tell from a quick perusal of the internet Apple doesn’t have an official mission statement, aside from some business jargon designed to impress potential investors. So I’ll just give my opinion here: It seems to me that Apple’s entire goal is to create streamlined, sleek and easy to use technology. “Plug ‘n’ play” seems to be the motto here: Simple and set up as soon as you pull it out of the box.

Android however, did have a rather clear statement for why it exists. This is pulled from https://source.android.com/source/ –

“The Android philosophy is pragmatic, first and foremost. The objective is a shared product that each contributor can tailor and customize.”

To summarize: Android’s goal seems to be to create software that is almost entirely in the users control. A framework from which the client can build whatever suits them best. The ultimate in customization.

Herein lies the olive branch. The potential for peace in this war. In the argument of “who’s better?” I think most don’t realize that’s like asking “Who’s better: the Chicago Bulls or the San Francisco 49ers?” they’re both sports teams, but they’re playing different games. An avid basketball player could care less what the 9’ers are up to, and a born and raised linebacker certainly isn’t concerned with the NBA.

So when people ask, “which is better?” My response is, “What are you looking for?”

If you’re looking for extreme user-friendliness (with the exception of iTunes – but that’s a rant for another day), and sleek, attractive packaging that will make sure you’re on the cutting edge of style in the ‘age of the geek’? Go with Apple. You’ll be up and running as soon as the battery is charged on your shiny new device. But don’t you DARE try to change anything. Ever. At all. In fact – if you want to upgrade the amount of storage, you’d better just buy the newest device.

If you’ve got the time and you want the control? Go with Android. Don’t like the amount of storage your device came with? Double it with a micro SD card! Not happy with the lifespan of your old battery? Rip the back off that phone and replace it! In fact with only some limitation – you can feasibly add on/change just about anything on an Android. IF you’re willing to put forth the effort. But if you tinker too much and your device develops schizophrenia – well, it IS an open-sourced operating system: You may have been asking for it.

Personally I’m an android user. I have a Samsung Galaxy SII for a phone (I know, I know – The S4 is out and I’m behind the times) and I use the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1″ for school and such. I’m pretty familiar with the issues of Android, but overall I’m pleased with what Google and others have done, and at this point I’m pretty loyal.

My Fiancée, however is an Apple user (I know what you’re thinking: ‘the marriage is doomed!!’). In fact I’m marrying into a whole family of them, and while I may not be willing to submit my freedom of customization to the totalitarian rule of Apple. She’s perfectly happy with their products and the limitations involved, and will probably remain loyal to them for the foreseeable future.

If you want a side-by-side comparison of Apple and Android products, just go to YouTube, battalions of people far geekier than I have just about beat that horse to death. For my part, I think it’s beneficial to see another point of view is all.

About Jared

I am a 24 year old Public Relations student at UVU.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

